Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

kaylaholloway Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 9:52:52 AM(UTC)
kaylaholloway

Groups: Registered

Hi everyone!
I am TOTALLY new to the Cricut idea. Infact, I attended a craft show, saw a glass cake stand with a monogram and 3/4" dots on it and decided to start researching how to do 1. My research lead me to Cricut. I kjnow NOTHING about this thing! I simply want to make the cake stand (maybe a couple of them) for Christmas gifts. I have no idea where to start. Which machine? What kind of "paper". I'm so confused! Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
Thanks!
Kayla

Edited by user Sunday, November 14, 2010 11:38:38 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

scubascrapper Offline
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 10:10:43 AM(UTC)
scubascrapper

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member

Was thanked: 388 time(s) in 219 post(s)
Wow, you may be looking at investing A LOT of money to make just a few cake stands...but we LOVE to have new people to enable here LOL.

First to do the etching for any glass items, you would of course need a Cricut machine. Depending on if/what else you may use the machine for in the future would determine which machine you should get. Here is a list of the machines and their capabilities:

Original Personal Cutter (aka baby bug or V1): allows cutting on a 6x12 mat; will cut letters/shapes from 1" - 11.5"
Expression: allows cutting on a 12x12 or 12x24 mat; will cut letters/shapes from .25" - 23.5"; has 6 additional modes and 6 additional functions.
Create: allows cutting on a 6x12 mat; will cut letters/shapes from .25" - 11.5"; has 6 additional modes and 6 additional functions.