Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

luvmy2boys Offline
#1 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 10:05:53 AM(UTC)
luvmy2boys

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/8/2008(UTC)
Posts: 192
Location: Southeast Missouri

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Okay, so I am looking at the step-by-step instructions for getting started with my G. It says I need to download the trail version of the DS software. I only have a netbook. Will it be able to handle the DS? I thought I read somewhere that it won't. Any thoughts?
luvmy2boys Offline
#2 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 2:49:21 PM(UTC)
luvmy2boys

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/8/2008(UTC)
Posts: 192
Location: Southeast Missouri

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
anyone else download the trail version of DS on a netbook??
Narelle Offline
#3 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 4:12:28 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,674
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1973 times
Was thanked: 7593 time(s) in 3543 post(s)
You should be able to download and install it. The problem that some users are having is that they can't get the screen resolution small enough for the buttons to appear on screen. If that's the case you can connect an external monitor to the netbook.
TheBugBytes Offline
#4 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 4:29:53 PM(UTC)
TheBugBytes

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/18/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,242
Location: Katy, Texas

Thanks: 182 times
Was thanked: 1539 time(s) in 876 post(s)
check the resolution of your netbook sweetie. It needs to be atleast 1024 x 768 for CDS to work
you can usually check on control panel if you have windows.
luvmy2boys Offline
#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 19, 2010 2:10:01 PM(UTC)
luvmy2boys

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/8/2008(UTC)
Posts: 192
Location: Southeast Missouri

Thanks: 19 times
Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
So if the resolution is 1024 x 600 then I won't be able to use my netbook for the updates???
BarbieSparkle Offline
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 19, 2010 7:55:02 PM(UTC)
BarbieSparkle

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/27/2009(UTC)
Posts: 88
Location: South Central Illinois

Thanks: 15 times
Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 14 post(s)
I'm gonna hop in here just because no one else has gotten back to you yet. I have the same 1024 x 600 that you mention. I think the program is probably functional (and yes you should be able to update) however, the problem is that with the limited resolution the whole DS screen is not displayed -- therefore you can't access all the buttons and it's not much good that way. Bored I hadn't heard of using an external monitor, that sounds like an interesting possibility. I just pretty much abandonded DS when I got used to my Gypsy. . . HTH

 1 user thanked BarbieSparkle for this useful post.
luvmy2boys on 10/20/2010(UTC)
TheBugBytes Offline
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2010 6:20:57 AM(UTC)
TheBugBytes

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/18/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,242
Location: Katy, Texas

Thanks: 182 times
Was thanked: 1539 time(s) in 876 post(s)
luvmy2boys wrote:
So if the resolution is 1024 x 600 then I won't be able to use my netbook for the updates???


I think if it is 1024 it may work. I would try the trial version first before buying the CDS in case you have not bought it yet
 1 user thanked TheBugBytes for this useful post.
luvmy2boys on 10/20/2010(UTC)
busymomof3 Offline
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2010 12:13:31 PM(UTC)
busymomof3

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/24/2007(UTC)
Posts: 50
Location: Eastern Iowa

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
I have installed the trial version on my netbook, with 1024 x 600 resolution. The buttons on the bottom are not accessible, but the drop downs at the top are usable. I did finally activate it to a full version, although I still don't see the buttons on the bottom. It works fine, you just have to be a little creative to find work arounds.

Edited by user Wednesday, October 20, 2010 12:15:29 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Mercy Offline
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2010 1:26:46 PM(UTC)
Mercy

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/22/2009(UTC)
Posts: 9,408

Thanks: 679 times
Was thanked: 2082 time(s) in 1202 post(s)
busymomof3 wrote:
I have installed the trial version on my netbook, with 1024 x 600 resolution. The buttons on the bottom are not accessible, but the drop downs at the top are usable. I did finally activate it to a full version, although I still don't see the buttons on the bottom. It works fine, you just have to be a little creative to find work arounds.


Did you try to change your dpi as your dpi should be 96.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.464 seconds.
nebo-cricut-03