Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

ylrosebud270 Offline
#1 Posted : Saturday, October 09, 2010 10:15:54 AM(UTC)
ylrosebud270

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 56 time(s) in 49 post(s)
I have just started using the PriamColor pencils w/Gamsol. LOL I tend to have a heavy hand when coloring. And forget the shadowing LOL LOL . Although people that get my stuff say like them. I am by no means an expert like so many here on coloring. But I am loving the look of some of the markers some of you use. Can you explain the difference in the Copic Ciao & Sketch which to get.
As I can tell that the ProMarkers are much cheaper but are they OK. Hate to spend the money and they are not similar to the Copic. Any thought on the Prismacolor markers? Thanks, Rose.
Enfys Offline
#2 Posted : Saturday, October 09, 2010 11:50:21 AM(UTC)
Enfys

United Kingdom

Was thanked: 1669 time(s) in 515 post(s)
Alcohol (solvent) markers lay down a transluscent wash of colour that you build up to get shade and shadows. It's a fascinating technique and gives very professional results. There are loads of you tube tutorials out there on colouring - I have a promarker one on my blog.

Copic are alcohol markers, from Japan. The sketch hold more ink and are an oval shape. Ciao are the original round shape. Both have a brush nib and a wedge shaped nib. They are refillable, the downside of that being that each refill ink costs around $5. They sell for around $5 a pen

Promarkers are alcohol markers also, made by UK company Letraset. They are not refillable, but hold a lot more ink than the copics, so last longer. They have a fine bullet nib, and a wedge. I use these markers, and much prefer them, I find the fine nib much easier to colour tiny detail on stamped images. They sell for about $1.50 online from Carpediemstore.com