Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

Ruby Offline
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2013 2:25:31 PM(UTC)
Ruby

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/26/2010(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: Chicago, IL

My E2 starts to cut an image and after a few mintues I get an error on my Gypsy.
Error: communication with Cricut lost.
Please power off and back on your cricut, check your connections and click ok.
If this error continues click update to see if you need to update your cricut.


I have updated my E2 and Gypsy and continue to get this error.
Anyone have any suggestions? I did call provocraft and they walked me through a reset procedure and sent me a new cable but still getting error.


Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Ruby
Jennifer Offline
#2 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2013 8:22:09 AM(UTC)
Jennifer

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/1/2006(UTC)
Posts: 571
Location: Massachusetts

Thanks: 161 times
Was thanked: 149 time(s) in 105 post(s)
This happens EVERY time I use my Gypsy with the E2. I've given up.
LouiseJohnson1 Offline
#3 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 7:46:21 AM(UTC)
LouiseJohnson1

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/10/2007(UTC)
Posts: 26
Location: CT

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
This happens to me too. Last year it was mostly fixed by the new cable they sent me. This time I'm almost 100% certain it's due to the actual USB connection on the Gypsy itself, so not fixable. The only way I can sometimes cut is if I find the right position and hold the Gypsy and the cable in place for the duration of the cut. This works about one in every 20 times. Customer service suggested that I buy a new Gypsy. Not going to happen. I wish they would hurry up and fix the linking issue with CCR, but I've heard the same thing for more than a year... I hope the cable does the trick for you!
Coah'sNana Offline
#4 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 3:33:36 PM(UTC)
Coah'sNana

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 2/19/2011(UTC)
Posts: 6,659
Virgin Islands (U.S.)
Location: 'Almost Heaven' West Virginia

Thanks: 16697 times
Was thanked: 13214 time(s) in 3707 post(s)
This is a KNOWN issue since the last firmware update of the E2. It has been reported to PC numerous times. I'm told there is a workaround that involves using the CUT on your E2 instead of the CUT on the Gypsy, but I've never tried it. I gave up using my E2 and went back to my E1.
How sad is that.
Narelle Offline
#5 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 4:09:34 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,665
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1970 times
Was thanked: 7575 time(s) in 3538 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Coah'sNana Go to Quoted Post
This is a KNOWN issue since the last firmware update of the E2. It has been reported to PC numerous times. I'm told there is a workaround that involves using the CUT on your E2 instead of the CUT on the Gypsy, but I've never tried it. I gave up using my E2 and went back to my E1.
How sad is that.


It definitely works! BigGrin Give it a try. BigGrin

When it first started happening after the update I couldn't work out why I didn't have the problem when so many others were. Turns out it's because I have always loaded from the E2 not the Gypsy. Smile
MSSportsFan Offline
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 9:02:44 PM(UTC)
MSSportsFan

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/29/2012(UTC)
Posts: 17

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I still couldn't resolve the problem by loading from the E2 and not the Gypsy.
Emails to PC only yield the answer that they are working on the problem.
Crying
MichiganStateSpartan Offline
#7 Posted : Sunday, February 10, 2013 6:10:58 PM(UTC)
MichiganStateSpartan

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/5/2006(UTC)
Posts: 445
Location: Michigan

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 91 time(s) in 75 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Narelle Go to Quoted Post
It definitely works! BigGrin Give it a try. BigGrin

When it first started happening after the update I couldn't work out why I didn't have the problem when so many others were. Turns out it's because I have always loaded from the E2 not the Gypsy. Smile


I have had this work exactly once since May 2012. I have tried to get help from PC since June. I have given up and am no longer buying PC products.
I am tired of trying to cut with new blades & mats a simple design and wasting my paper and time. I will be taking my business to the other company that has a better machine.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.641 seconds.
nebo-cricut-02