Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

jeancorzine Offline
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 5:15:43 PM(UTC)
jeancorzine

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/4/2011(UTC)
Posts: 27
Location: Downs Illinois

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I have the E2 and finally started playing with the layer features more. My problem is the layers are not fitting right. THE 2 cartridges that I have tried is Chore chart (the toy box) in that one I got the background and the toy box to fit but I am not able to get the parts of the car and the ball to fit right after trying many different sizes I stopped. I think I have real size off (the first Aa is selected) the background size 5 and the toy box(4.6) the part of the toy box that says Toys and the lid (4.2). I have tried many different sizes for the last layer ofpart of ball and car and windshield. I also tried the baby on the bbq cart only did one try and just got frustrated so quit for a while. Please help or let me know if there is a good youtube video on how to do layering (i have loooked but havent found one yet but I am sure there is one out there).

other question is my paper is ripping while cutting which setting do I need to change to stop that (blade depth, or pressure or speed).
I have only had my cricut since the middle of June and have enjoyed it so far.

Thanks

Jean
sunflowerbug Offline
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 6:37:45 PM(UTC)
sunflowerbug

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/5/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,073
Location: Close to golf balls and squirrels

Thanks: 71 times
Was thanked: 173 time(s) in 150 post(s)
I don't have those carts so I'm not sure about the layering on those. In regards to paper tearing,take the blade houseing out and remove the blade.Make sure theres no paper stuck inside the houseing,just tap it on the table and give a little blow inside. For cardstock I use blade #4-5 with new blade,pressure 3-4 and speed at 3 med. On simple cuts you can go high or max. If there's lots of twists,turns,swirls do low-med. Also make sure your paper is on the mat with no air bubbles. Hope this helps. It's alot of trial and error so I use scrap paper.
Melisa_Alzammar Offline
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 6:57:39 PM(UTC)
Melisa_Alzammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/15/2010(UTC)
Posts: 402
Location: Redlands, Ca

Thanks: 16 times
Was thanked: 60 time(s) in 49 post(s)
It sounds like you dont have all the sizes for the cuts the right size. So for instance if you are cutting something at 5 inches, everything you cut for that shape should be 5 inches. They should all match up after that. I don't have that cartridge but everything that I have cut out and made sure that they are the same size has cut out right. I'm going to try playing around with it on my gypsy because even though I don't have that cartridge I can still play around with it. I'll let you know what happens later, Melisa
Narelle Online
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 7:07:10 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,672
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1972 times
Was thanked: 7579 time(s) in 3541 post(s)
I vaguely remember reading a post about this last week. Apparently there are two places you need to have real size turned off. One is under the Global button. Sorry I can't help more. I'm away from the house so can't check my E2.
 1 user thanked Narelle for this useful post.
jeancorzine on 7/28/2011(UTC)
Melisa_Alzammar Offline
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 7:21:07 PM(UTC)
Melisa_Alzammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/15/2010(UTC)
Posts: 402
Location: Redlands, Ca

Thanks: 16 times
Was thanked: 60 time(s) in 49 post(s)
I played around with it on my gypsy and everything lined up right as long as I had all the pieces for the same size. I have an E2 and have never had to change the "global button" If all else fails call customer service tomorrow, The reps are very helpful. I had to call them today because I couldn't figure out how to change my blade. Try cutting out everything the same size for the image and see if it works that way. Hope that helps.
 1 user thanked Melisa_Alzammar for this useful post.
jeancorzine on 7/28/2011(UTC)
sunflowerbug Offline
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 27, 2011 11:30:30 PM(UTC)
sunflowerbug

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/5/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,073
Location: Close to golf balls and squirrels

Thanks: 71 times
Was thanked: 173 time(s) in 150 post(s)
I don't have an E2 so what's GLOBAL button? If it's something FUNmaybe I'll want an E2,lol.
Narelle Online
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 5:55:42 AM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,672
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1972 times
Was thanked: 7579 time(s) in 3541 post(s)
I found the post I was talking about:
http://community.provocraft.com...he-last-couple-days.aspx

The button I was talking about is the Apply All button.(It kind of looks like a globe). The E2 manual describes it as:

"The Apply All page is an easy way to apply multiple settings to the images in a project at the same time.

Using the controls in this area, you can select settings for each image in your current project such as choosing:

True or Relative Size
Flip Vertical
Flip Horizontal
Rotate
Size
Paper Saver"

The Apply All button looks like this:


jeancorzine Offline
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 6:49:54 AM(UTC)
jeancorzine

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/4/2011(UTC)
Posts: 27
Location: Downs Illinois

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Thanks for the help. I will play around with it today.

jeancorzine Offline
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 3:05:30 PM(UTC)
jeancorzine

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/4/2011(UTC)
Posts: 27
Location: Downs Illinois

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I played with it today and got the layering to work. I just made everything the same size (i assumed the machine did that for what it was suppose to be). Thank you for all the advice. you can check out my blog and see the project the layering is the books since the toy box I gave up on yesterday.
Narelle Online
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 4:10:21 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,672
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1972 times
Was thanked: 7579 time(s) in 3541 post(s)
Glad you got it working!Smile

When you select the size for your base image it should cut all your other layers at the same size.
cynthiagarza1 Offline
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 5:06:12 PM(UTC)
cynthiagarza1

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/1/2011(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks: 1 times
Help I am working with Disney Pixar Cartridge. I gone through some much red card card, can't figure out how layering.Should I cut everything 10 inches? How about tires, windows, lettering.cbgarza2003@yahoo.com Any help or website is greatly appreciated.
Narelle Online
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 5:15:16 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,672
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1972 times
Was thanked: 7579 time(s) in 3541 post(s)
Originally Posted by: cynthiagarza1 Go to Quoted Post
Help I am working with Disney Pixar Cartridge. I gone through some much red card card, can't figure out how layering.Should I cut everything 10 inches? How about tires, windows, lettering.cbgarza2003@yahoo.com Any help or website is greatly appreciated.


First make sure your Real Dial Size button is OFF.

Select the size you want your base image to be using the size dial.

Cut your base image.

Then cut all the different layers, making sure you leave the size the same as the base image. The layers will cut at the correct size relative to the size of the base image.

Hope that helps

 1 user thanked Narelle for this useful post.
cynthiagarza1 on 7/28/2011(UTC)
cynthiagarza1 Offline
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 6:28:08 PM(UTC)
cynthiagarza1

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/1/2011(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks: 1 times
Thanks for advice. would it make a difference if I am using Cricut design studio.(Car trouble in layering)
Narelle Online
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 7:59:36 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,672
Australia
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Thanks: 1972 times
Was thanked: 7579 time(s) in 3541 post(s)
Originally Posted by: cynthiagarza1 Go to Quoted Post
Thanks for advice. would it make a difference if I am using Cricut design studio.(Car trouble in layering)

Well, I use Design Studio for just about everything. That way I can place all the different layers on the mat and cut them all out at the same time.

Like this:

Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.808 seconds.
nebo-cricut-03